CSSA anounces new President and other office bearers for 2012 / 13

Institute of Information Technology Professionals South Africa ’s Annual General Meeting was held on Tuesday 17 July 2012 at The Wanderers Club in Illovo, Johannesburg.  As part of the AGM proceedings, Rabelani Dagada (Wits University), Ulandi Exner (Value Logistics) and Bradley Sampson (Umgeni Water) were elected to the Executive Council of the Institute, and Adrian Schofield (Joburg Centre for Software Engineering), Gail Sturgess (TalentAlign), and Wellington Matope (Standard Bank) were re-elected to the Council.

The Executive Council of Institute of Information Technology Professionals South Africa (IITPSA) has subsequently elected its new Office Bearers for 2012 / 2013, with Rabelani Dagada (Wits University) being elected as the new IITPSA President and Wellington Matope (Standard Bank) and Moira de Roche (Independent Consultant) elected as the IITPSA’s Vice Presidents.  Ulandi Exner takes over the role of Honorary Treasurer from Moira de Roche and both Ulandi and Gail Sturgess (TalentAlign) join the Institute’s Board of Directors. Immediate Past President, Adrian Schofield, remains on the Board.

In his opening remarks as the new IITPSA President, Rabelani Dagada noted:

“Succeeding Adrian Schofield as the IITPSA President will be both a hard act to follow and humbling.  The man has a good heart, gigantic stature and an enviable track record.  I offer my deepest appreciation for services rendered to Adrian, Moira de Roche, Gail Sturgess, and our other stalwarts.  I am proud with the caliber of leadership that they have attracted and nurtured – just look at Wellington Matope and Tony Parry.

I am certain that those of us who hold senior positions in the IITPSA will ensure the success and the stability of the Institute.  Sometimes I feel overawed when I consider the fact that we are custodians of an organisation that is more than 50 years old!”

Rabelani has been a Vice President of the IITPSA for the past two years, and he was also the Chapter Chair of the IITPSA’s Gauteng Chapter for the same period.

Adrian Schofield, outgoing IITPSA President, hands over the presidential chain of office to newly elected IITPSA President, Rabelani Dagada.