Critical Skills List 2022

Extract from Government Notice 1727 published by the Department of Home Affairs in
the Government Gazette 45860 dated 2 February 2022

Occupations & Critical Skills handled by the Institute of IT Professional SA (IITPSA) in respect of Critical Skills Application Certificates where the qualifications and experience relate to the broad domain of Information and Communications Technology (ICT).


Number Occupation Name Minimum Qualification
4 Programme or Project Manager NQF 8
5 Quality Systems Manager NQF 8
7 Research and Development Manager NQF 8
11 Chief Information Officer NQF 8
12 Data Management Manager NQF 8
56 Multimedia Designer NQF 7
74 ICT Systems Analyst NQF 7
75 Data Scientist NQF 7
76 Software developer NQF 7
77 Programmer Analyst NQF 7
78 Developer Programmer NQF 7
79 Multimedia Specialist NQF 7
80 Applications Programmer NQF 7
81 Computers Quality Assurance Analyst NQF 7
82 Computer Network and Systems Engineer NQF 7
83 Network Analyst NQF 7
84 ICT Security Specialist NQF 7


For more detailed information on the above, please refer to the Department of Home Affairs website and the specific Government Gazette.

We wish to draw all applicants attention to the fact that the gazetted 2022 Critical Skills list also specifies minimum qualifications for each skill, which must be relevant to that skill – typically either NQF 7 (3 year Bachelor’s degree), or NQF 8 (4 year Bachelor’s degree, or 3 year Bachelor’s degree plus either 1 year Honours degree or 1 year post-graduate diploma).NQF 7