

Promoting the ICT Professional

IITPSA NPC Unit 4, Probuild Commercial Park 347 James Crescent, Halfway House Midrand, 1685 P O Box 1714, Halfway House, 1685 South Africa

> Tel: +27 87 655 1679 Fax: +27 11 315 2276 www.iitpsa.org.za

Minutes of 2021 AGM of Eastern Cape Chapter of the IITPSA

Date: 25 February 2021, virtual Zoom AGM at 16h00.

<u>Agenda</u>

Welcome: The acting Chair, Lynn Futcher welcomed the members present and specifically Mr Tony Parry, CEO of the IITPSA for assisting with the organisation of the virtual event.

Attendance Register

In virtual attendance: Tony Parry (IITPSA CEO), Prof. Lynn Futcher, Leigh Angelo, Tracy Burrows, Dr. Sue Petratos, Kuda Nyamutsambira, Prof. Andre Calitz, Prof. Kerry-Lynn Thomson, Harry Paleochoritis, Prof. Jean Greyling, Luzuko Tekeni, Vincent van Zyl and Ricky Ngandu.

Apologies: Mr Royden Wolhuter, Belinda Samuels.

Minutes of Previous Meeting: The Chairman presented the Minutes of the Eastern Cape IITPSA AGM held on the 27th February 2020. A correction was noted for the meeting attendance list in the minutes: Prof Jean Greyling was in attendance at the 2020 AGM.

The minutes were accepted. **Proposer:** Harry Paleochoritis **Seconder:** Kuda Nyamutsambira

Chairman's Report: The acting Chapter Chair, Prof Lynn Futcher presented the report, highlighting the EC Chapter activities, the 3 Committee meetings, four MEMCO meetings, the past events and planned events for 2021, including other EC Chapter initiatives, specifically 2021 Gala awards.

Chapter finances: The acting Chair presented the chapter finances. Chapter finances are controlled by the National Office in Johannesburg. Chapter expenses include the Gala Awards function, monthly talks, Committee meetings and the AGM.

Eastern Cape Events: The following events were held by the EC Chapter in 2020:

- 27 February 2020 AGM
- 3 committee meetings
- 4 Zoom MEMCO meetings
- Joint IITPSA/ISACA talk talk by Dr Thomas Hilmer and Jerall Toi from NMU on Thursday 5 March 2020 (32 attendees)
- Woman's Day event: Prof Darelle van Greunen virtual presentation on "Leveraging ICTs in the Fight Against the Covid-19 Pandemic" on 26th August 2020
- On Wednesday, 9th December, we bid a final farewell to Dr Lester Cowley (Chairman), who resigned at the end of October 2020 to relocate to Cape Town
- Committee End of Year Function took place on 9 Dec 2020 at the De Kelder Restaurant, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth

Directors: T. Mashegoane (President), A. Gwanzura (VP), K.W. Matthee (Treasurer), Ms. U. Exner, Ms. M.C. de Roche, Ms. P. Pasi, Ms. S.B. Goba, J. Singh, L.T. Kearns, R. Kisten, K.F. Chipidza, M.A. Parry (CEO)



National Initiatives and Professional Membership

Mr Tony Parry (CEO) presented the national report, highlighting the membership profile of the IITPSA, strategic objectives, selected highlights of each strategic objective, digital engagements and other national highlights for 2019 / 2020, including the Computer Olympiads. The finances of the IITPSA indicate that the organisation is still in a strong financial position. He noted that, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 year had been a lot more difficult than prior years.

The IITPSA produces an annual report. Mr Tony Parry highlighted extracts from the 2019/20 report. These reports are available at: <u>https://www.iitpsa.org.za/annual-reports/</u>

Election of New Chapter Committee for 2021/2022

Curent Committee members, renominated:

Prof. Lynn Futcher Michael Georgiou Devereaux Joubert Kudakwashe Nyamutsambira Harry Paleochoritis Dr. Sue Petratos Prof. Andre Calitz

New nominations received:

Ms. Belinda Samuels (DiData) Prof. Kerry-Lynn Thompson (NMU) Mr. Luzuko Tekeni (NMU)

All ten nominations were unanimously approved by the members in attendance.

Proposer: Andre Calitz **Seconder:** Kuda Nyamutsambira

Matters under general

Tony indicated that they are planning for the 2020 deferred President's awards event (to be held in April 2021) as a live-streamed virtual awards function.

In response to a member question, Tony explained the role of the professional body such as the IITPSA and the activities being undertaken to increase the reach and value-add.

Closure: The Chair thanked the committee and members for attending. Andre thanked Lynn (Acting Chair) for taking over the leadership role of the IITPSA EC Chapter. Tony thanked all of the Chapter Committee members, on behalf of the IITPSA, for their commitment and work in the Eastern Cape Chapter. Lynn thanked Tony for his continuous support.

Meeting closed at 17h20.

Directors: T. Mashegoane (President), A. Gwanzura (VP), K.W. Matthee (Treasurer), Ms. U. Exner, Ms. M.C. de Roche, Ms. P. Pasi, Ms. S.B. Goba, J. Singh, L.T. Kearns, R. Kisten, K.F. Chipidza, M.A. Parry (CEO)



