IITPSA Welcomes four new Board Members, announces 2018/19 Office Bearers


The Annual General Meeting of IITPSA (Institute of Information Technology Professionals South Africa) was held on Tuesday 24 July 2018 at the Protea Hotel Midrand.  As part of the AGM proceedings, Ulandi Exner, Dr. Chris Johl and Karel Matthee were re-elected as Non-Executive Directors of the Institute, and Carolynn Chalmers, Admire Gwanzura, Rimmon Kisten and Dr. Kiru Pillay were elected to the Board for the first time. With these new appointments, the geographic spread of Directors has widened, with Carolynn Chalmers and Admire Gwanzura both being residents of the Western Cape and Rimmon Kisten coming from KZN.


The Board of Directors of IITPSA has subsequently elected its new Office Bearers for 2018 / 2019, with Ulandi Exner and Thabo Mashegoane being re-elected to the positions of President (Board Chairperson) and Vice-President respectively.  Karel Matthee takes up the duties of Honorary Treasurer for the Institute, taking over the reins from Moira de Roche who has served the Institute in an exemplary manner in this role for a number of years.


In her Presidential address, Ms. Exner commented on the growth of the Institute and some of its key initiatives, including the annual award of a bursary for tertiary study in ICTs, various secondary school scholarships and increased support of the SA Computer Olympiads. “One of IITPSA’s key roles is that of assisting in skills development, and these projects help us to do just that”, she remarked.


Members attending the AGM were also privileged to hear an entertaining, yet thought provoking presentation from the guest speaker, Mr. Vincent Mello (Rand Water) on the subject of ‘IT Professionals with a HEART & SOUL in the 21st Century’.


In closing, the President thanked the members of the Board, its Sub-Committees, Management and Staff of the Institute, for the part that they have played in improving the role, function and fortunes of the Institute.


IITPSA 2018/19 Non-Executive Directors

Left to Right: Karel Matthee (Hon Treasurer), Ulandi Exner (President & Board Chairperson), Dr. Kiru Pillay, Pearl Pasi, Admire Gwanzura, Carolynn Chalmers, Rimmon Kisten, Moira de Roche, Dr. Chris Johl, Thabo Mashegoane (Vice-President).

(Photo by Jane Buisson-Street)