Professional Member (PMIITPSA®)

PMIITPSA® – Professional Member

PMIITPSA® is a SAQA Registered and IFIP IP3 accredited professional designation.

South Africa maps closely to the international model in which Information and Communications Technology (ICT) has broadened to the extent that it embraces just about all facets of modern life in the 21st century. The Professional Member Grade of the IITPSA creates an equitable yet rigorous standard for the certification of professional ICT practitioners across the entire ICT spectrum.

The standards required for admission to Professional Membership of the IITPSA ensure that professional practitioners admitted to this grade of membership have appropriate qualifications and demonstrate a high Degree of relevant professional experience in one or more of the many disciplines included within the ICT spectrum. Such disciplines include (but are not limited to): software, network or telecommunications engineering, information security, ICT governance, business analysis, database management and administration, ICT management, ICT lecturing and/or research, project management, business intelligence, Enterprise Resource Planning, software design and/or development, web development, Artificial Intelligence, Robotics, Big Data and Data Analuytics, and mobile technologies. Most professional members have ten or more years’ experience in the ICT arena. Applicants admitted to this grade may use the post-nominal designator “PMIITPSA®“.

For the Professional Designation to be awarded, professionals must comply with the following minimum requirements:
Underlying Registered Qualification or Part Qualification:
Typically a relevant Bachelor’s Degree, Bachelor of Technology Degree or National/National Higher Diploma. Other certifications may also be recognised, and Recognition of Prior Learning may be applied.
Experiential Learning or Experience
This is measured in months and the required minimum is dependent on the level of Academic Achievement referred to above. If the candidate presents the equivalent of a Bachelor’s Degree, then a minimum of 99 months experience is required. As the value of the qualification increases (e.g. Honours, Masters or Doctorate), so the number of months of required experience decreases commensurately.
Competency Assessment
Currently there are no specific board exams, but applicants for professional membership are required to:

  • Attend an interview with at least two members (peers) of the IITPSA.
  • Demonstrate a suitable level of familiarity and competence with a broad spectrum of ICT knowledge across the ICT field.
  • Complete a Skills Framework for the Information Age (SFIA) self-assessment which is evaluated in combination with the outcomes of the interview. Professional Members should broadly satisfy SFIA level 5 requirements in terms of Responsibility Level.
  • Have at least two years of continuous membership of the Institute immediately prior to application for the professional designation.
Designation RPL Statement
This Designation may be awarded through Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL), in line with the prevailing IITPSA RPL Policy.
In order to ensure the currency of professional knowledge and to retain the Professional Designation, the professional must comply with the following minimum requirements:
Code of Conduct
Members must adhere to the Professional Body Codes of Conduct and Ethics.
Continuing Professional Development (CPD)
By the submission of an application for re-grading to Professional Membership, the applicant accepts that being re-graded to Professional Member carries the responsibility for engaging in Continuing Professional Development (CPD) and requires the annual submission of CPD activity summaries to IITPSA. Professional Members are required to accumulate 72 CPD units in a three year period which may be claimed from their participation in the range of accredited activities listed in the IITPSA CPD policy document. The IITPSA will randomly select members for an annual audit and members so chosen will be required to submit documentary proof of their CPD activities.
Ensure that the annual membership fee is paid.
APPLY for the PMIITPSA® SAQA registered and IFIP IP3 accredited professional designation now:
Click here to apply for the professional member designation